SEIU Local 1 Aldermanic Endorsements

Progressive Union Representing More than 30,000 Workers in Illinois Endorses Candidates who Champion Middle Class Economics


February 6, 2015


Julia Valentine,

CHICAGO—Leading the fight against income inequality, SEIU Local 1 announced its endorsements for the 2015 City of Chicago Aldermanic Candidates. “Each of these candidates has demonstrated they understand the needs of working families,” said Tom Balanoff, SEIU Local 1 President. “I praise Alyx Pattison for understanding middle class economics as well as the need for restoring balance, reviving neighborhoods and building an economy that works for everyone, not just the wealthy few.”

“Chicago’s working people have a chance to vote for an economy that works for all of us in the upcoming February election,” said Rita Young, SEIU Local 1 Executive Board member. “That’s why SEIU is proud to endorse these progressive candidates so we can work with our elected officials to eliminate the economic and social inequality that is holding our city back.”

In addition to the SEIU Illinois State Council endorsements last week (see full list below),SEIU Local 1 is pleased to endorse the following candidates:

  • Alyx Pattison (2);
  • Ald. Will Burns (4);
  • Ald. Danny Solis (25).

Representing more than 30,000 workers in Illinois, SEIU Local 1 rallies behind candidates who have demonstrated strong voting records on issues important to working families such as raising the minimum wage.  SEIU Local 1 represents workers including security officers, janitors, and other service workers. SEIU members are winning better wages, health care, and more secure jobs, while ensuring that workers, not just corporations and CEOs, benefit from today’s economy.

The SEIU State Council endorsed the below aldermanic candidates last week:
Ald. Joe Moreno (1); Ald. Pat Dowell (3); Ald. Leslie Hairston (5); Ald Roderick Sawyer (6); Patrick Thompson (11); Ald. Toni Foulkes (16); Ald. Willie Cochran (20); Ald. Howard Brookins (21); Ald. Ricardo Munoz (22); Ald. Michael Zalewski (23); Ald. Walter Burnett (27); Ald. Jason Ervin (28); Ald. Scott Waguespack (32); Carlos Ramirez-Rosa (35); Ald. Nicholas Sposato (38); and Ald. John Arena (45).

Comments are closed.